Viewing entries tagged

Tight battles close 2015/16 AMCC Bucket Racing Championship

The 2015/2016 AMCC Bucket Racing Championship Final - Round 8

To see the event results, click here.

A massive congratulations goes to Nathanael Diprose for again taking out both AMCC F4 and F5 class wins this season. With 12 out of 16 race wins in F4, and 15 out of 16 race wins in F5, his consistency and dominance is hard to argue with. Of the 32 points races in the season, Nathanael suffered only one DNF. The machine development and seat time put in by Team Diprose over the years clearly show in the results and it's this level of riding and preparation which continues to set the bar.

Finishing on the podium in 14/16 races, 2 race wins and 7 second places, Will Ford fought hard to take 2nd place in the F4 championship. Solid riding Will, huge steps made this season. Pushing hard as always on a FXR150 among the gaggle of GP chassis, Henk Zeeven took 3rd place. A strong result from the fighting veteran. It's worth pointing out that both Ryan Fletcher, Dylan Bryne and Steven Lee progressed from C and B grades through to A grade to make their marks in the field this season. Always great to see riders making huge progress in a season, good riding guys.

It was good to see some really solid numbers in the AMCC B grade with 35 riders taking points this season. Clearly the field is growing strongly with a number of riders breaking into A grade later in the season. Once again, consistency wins championships and it was Warrick Head who took out/burgled B grade with 8/16 race wins for the season. Closely followed was Jay Leahy with 2nd in the championship who has made large steps this season. John Steer picked up 3rd place after a season of tight battles in this field of eager racers. Brief appearances on the podium from a number of riders in the two classes show there is some pace hiding in the field. Hopefully we'll see the continued pace into the new season and some fresh faces taking out the rounds.

F4 C grade was also hotly contested between Will Foster, Terrene Gibson and Liam Venter with Will coming out on top to take the win. Brian Read and Fabiano Pavia Santos made a few appearances on the C grade podium showing there are some close races still to come.

Dominic Howe Memorial Trophy race

This year's trophy race in honour of Dominic Howe was not meant to be. After being postponed last month due to low turnout numbers (weather influenced), the delayed race only got through one half of the 40 lap race before needing to be red flagged. A turn from dry to wet part way through saw a handful of riders all down at the start of the second half. With limited time left in the day and rain pouring down, the remainder of the race was called off. Results from the first half here. Congrats to Nathanael, Rod and Henk for taking the podium results. It was clear the 20 deep field had some close battles throughout.

Kick off for 2016/17

That's it for the 2015/2016 AMCC Bucket Racing season. The new season kicks off next month 9th and 10th of July at Mt Wellington. Reminder: don't forget to renew your MNZ Racing licence as processing day licences at the track is a terribly slow experience for all involved.

Photos of the racing over the weekend from Chris Cain can be found here. Paul Byrne has also posted some great photos on the FB page here.

To see the final result of the F4 championship, click here.

To see the final result of the F4 B-Grade championship, click here.

To see the final result of the F4 C-Grade championship, click here.

To see the final result of the F5 championship, click here.

To see the final result of the Sidecar championship, click here.